Should I Drop Out of School?

This is not a dilemma I ever thought I would be in.  Let me just start off by saying that I do not define myself as a quitter.  I’m trying to make the best decision for my time and resources and future.  I’m trying to decide whether or not I should continue with my schooling.

I already have my bachelor’s degree, but I started taking classes at the local community college last fall.  Why?  Well, frankly put, I was bored.  I was trapped in a dead-end job, looking for an escape.  I enrolled in a class, just to see if I would like it, just to have a creative outlet, just to feel like I was still moving towards something instead of treading water.

It was okay.  I learned some stuff.  I met a great friend.  We enrolled in a few more classes this semester, and I decided to work towards a certificate.  I needed to have a practical reason to be taking all of these classes and spending all of this time and money.  If it counted towards a future, then it made sense.  And it sounded good when people were asking me what I was doing lately.

I have a 4.0 GPA.  I’m getting approximately 110% in all of my classes (and that’s not too much of an exaggeration).  I’m not trying or valuing it very much because the classes are so easy for me.  And sometimes, frustratingly, they are more about jumping through the correct hoops than learning–for example, I get marked off for participating in an online discussion only two days a week instead of three.  Never mind the fact that that discounts the quality of the content I’m posting.  It has nothing to do with whether or not I’m learning the information or adding worthwhile thoughts to the discussion.  The professor simply decided that I wasn’t going to have enough time for the class, according to her own perceptions about time management, so I get marked off–this really bothers me…can you tell?

On the other hand, it’s valuable stuff to be learning.  It’s going to be useful someday, probably.  And identifying myself as a student is comfortable to me.  But I’m still bored.  It’s not the creative release I thought it would be.  I don’t see myself necessarily working in this field someday.  I spend a lot of time being frustrated with it.

So I’m four classes into the degree program and six away from finishing, so now is the time to decide.  Is an extra line on my resume worth sticking it out?  I have to choose between a potential use for it in the future (and there has been a lot of debate about whether going to college is even worth it anymore when so many college grads are working at jobs where college degrees are unnecessary) or being labeled a “quitter” (but saving myself time, money, and frustration).

Is it worth holding onto my identity as a student because of its comfortable familiarity and despite its frustrations?

I think I know which way I’m leaning, but what do you all think I should do?

3 thoughts on “Should I Drop Out of School?

  1. I feel your pain, Allison. It’s ironic to me that culture dictates we prepare for our future before we have lived long enough to define and figure out what we want to do with our lives.
    I don’t have all the answers. But I do think it’s important to evaluate whether it is worthwhile to invest valuable time and money into something that may not even take us toward our goals.
    I think the most important thing is for us to seek God. After all, it’s not about what *I* want to do with my life. It’s about what *He* wants to do with it!

    • I agree with Josh! Try to focus on fully surrendering to God and see where he leads… You will know when he moves!

  2. In the words of your wise co-worker, “Have you decided what you want to do with your life?” or something like that… lol So its just like reading a book you don’t enjoy, do you finish it or ditch it. What’s the point of wasting time finishing the book if you’ve already gotten halfway through and you don’t enjoy it. If the only thing you get out of this program is a great new friend then oh well. 🙂 Maybe you should check out different programs at this local community college and instead of continuing the program your in try something different.
    And I totally agree with Josh Hood, how are we supposed to get out of high school and know exactly what it is that we want to do with our lives. That’s just insane. Maybe you should go a whole different route than school and save your money and travel. Go find yourself like that girl in Eat, Pray, Love.

Leave a Reply

